• Sesa Football Academy

Vedanta Women’s Football League 2018 is back for better

  • 8 teams and more that 160+ players registered

  • Champions qualify for the India Women’s League (IWL)

  • Top scorer from 1st edition, Karishma Shirvoikar felicitated for representing India U17

Panaji, 9th, August, 2018: With a commitment and passion to nurture skill development with the objective of empowering the girl child through sports, Vedanta Limited launched the ‘Vedanta Women’s Football League 2018’ in Panjim under the aegis of the Goa Football Association (GFA). The launch event kick started with the Anthem Performance of ‘Mukhar Chal Chedwa’ by Varun Carvalho and Irina Blansh.

Commenting on the launch of the season 2, Elvis Gomes, President, Goa Football Association, said, “We are extremely excited to be launching the second edition of the women’s football league. Our aim is to make professional football more accessible to the women. After season one, I can proudly say that Goa has been witnessing resurgence in women’s football.”

“This year, the winners will have an opportunity to compete at the highest level as they will be qualifying India Women’s League to play against the very best in the country,” he added.

Annanya Agarwal, President, Sesa Football Academy said, “It is very heartening to see such a tremendous response for the women’s league. The enthusiasm seen at the ground level for this initiative is very evident and if the current trend continues these women will surely excel at the national and international level.’’

‘’The league has revolutionized women’s football in Goa and the creation of the league is historic. The potential that the league has to unearth talent, while providing a platform to women to showcase their talent is huge, “he added.

This year the organizers have added three new teams to the league and will see 8 teams battle for the coveted women’s league title. A total of 160 + women footballers will be participating in this year’s league. The 8 teams participating in the league this year are Albert Developers Sports Club, Ambelim Sports Club (New), Churchill Brothers Football Club (New), Cuncolim Union, FC Goa (New), Goa Velha Sports Club, Panjim Footballers and Sporting Clube de Goa.